The Tree Outside My Window

The Tree Outside My Window

Stands rustic and tall this year

As if the color has been locked

Away from view or hidden

In a drawer with old linen and

Lingerie of a former time

“Are you sad that

This may be our last year

Together?”

Were you hoping

I would be looking out at you

Forever

Or did I not open the blinds

Enough and stare out at you

This year?

I can only say, I’m sorry.”

Reflection:  My degree will be completed next spring.  Will I be moving? Where will I decide to call home?  Will I not see the tree burst into fall colors again.

 

 

One thought on “The Tree Outside My Window

I'm interested in hearing people's ideas about metaphors and to post other people's metaphors as well as my own!

