Metaphorical Writing for 4th of July 2013

Blonde curly hair waiving a flag from her tricycle.  Sparklers spun, and red white and blue popsicles or vanilla bars with a thin crunchy glaze and flag colored sprinkles.  The pool in our backyard is assembled.  I am wearing a halter top.  It is a few days before my birthday of more ice cream, cakes and goodies, but there will be presents, too.  I am innocent, I know nothing of massacres and slavery.  My father came here fleeing from bad people and so did my mother’s parents.  I love going to school and learning to read.  I’m not sure when I learned the other truths (the ABCs of civilization); when was the moment I first started to understand beyond the black man who turned on and off the lights at the synagogue on the Sabbath.  And human trafficking still goes on. 

cropped-sunsetwtext.jpg

3 thoughts on “Metaphorical Writing for 4th of July 2013

I'm interested in hearing people's ideas about metaphors and to post other people's metaphors as well as my own!

